Swans confirm who is staying and congratulations Abdulai !

As we stated this morning Swansea City have released their retained list and also confirmed the signing of Joe Allen for another year. The midfielder has been sitting on an offer for some weeks but indicated via a third party to us he would sign.

Nathanael Ogbeta as reported a few weeks ago has no contract offer.

There’s many references on our news site, have a search around.

Although Placheta, Jamal Lowe and Jamie Paterson do not feature as being retained or offered new contracts, there is always flexibility as Kyle Naughton found out after being released last season. Paterson is in talks again this week. It’s unlikely the terms available would have appealed to Lowe, who isn’t a Swans player and is now a free agent from Bournemouth. Placheta is also free at this current time – he has had sight of some form of an offer but it has been described as a million miles away from his £19,500 a week he received at Norwich City. The club now state he is leaving.

You would imagine both he and Liam Walsh will reflect on their positions with other clubs likely to be interested in their services. For the time being he is also released. There seems to be a lot of misunderstanding as to what a retained list is, and yes if this was the clubs squad and u21 side for next season both would struggle. In the first teams case they would be a certainty for relegation. However, that isn’t the case, certain players remain in negotiation for their futures. And anything can happen.

It’s open mind time.

⚽️ The retained list.
Azeem Abdulai, (contract extended to 2026) Joe Allen, Mitchell Bates, Nathan Broome, Ben Cabango, Maliq Cadogan, Cameron Congreve, Jacob Cook, Ollie Cooper, Joel Cotterill, Liam Cullen, Sebastian Dabrowski, Harry Darling, Callum Deacon, Jack Fanning, Andy Fisher, Jay Fulton, Josh Ginnelly, Aimar Govea, Yori Griffith, Matt Grimes, Sammy Henia-Kamau, Aidan Higgins, Kiel Higginson, Ben Hughes, Harry Jones, Iestyn Jones, Josh Key, Mykola Kuharevich, Filip Lissah, Ben Lloyd, Kit Margetson, Teo Minchev, Kyle Naughton, Glory Nzingo, Arthur Parker, Sam Parker, Kristian Pedersen, Josh Pescatore, Ramon Rees-Siso, Ronald, Samuel Seager, Thomas Searle, Liam Smith, Josh Thomas, Nathan Tjoe-A-On, Josh Tymon, Dan Watts, Evan Watts, Osian Williams, Kyrell Wilson, Nathan Wood, Thomas Woodward, Jerry Yates.

We will assess the latest position of certain players and the club and carry a weekend feature over the coming two days.

“Might be expensive” – Derby County sent clear transfer message ahead of Championship return


For More Stories Like This, Check Our Sport Page.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.